This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.


Bike-It MTX Kawasaki rider Courtney Duncan has dominated women’s MX

Posted by Whites Powersports on
Bike-It MTX Kawasaki rider Courtney Duncan has dominated women’s MX

Growing up as a Kiwi girl in Otago, New Zealand, Duncan had a childhood dream to become a world champion. After many tough years of injuries and setbacks, 2019 was the turning point for her career when she joined the Bike-it MTX Kawasaki (Dixon Racing) team.  Duncan has since claimed three consecutive world titles in 2019, 2020 and most recently 2021.

Courtney Duncan - 3 time world champion.

Courtney’s most recent victory was at the MXGP of Trentino on her KX250 where she achieved her third consecutive FIM Women’s Motocross World championship.
After 6 tough rounds with her rivals, Duncan took the win by a resounding 31 points. Duncan also led Kawasaki to top the manufacturer standings.

““It comes down to how much it means to you, and how much is on the line and how much you want to win it. I was definitely feeling a little anxious but as soon as I got to the line, the helmet went on and I felt pretty controlled out there. I was able to finish third which was good enough to win the championship in the first one which was pretty crazy. I wasn’t expecting that.”

“This year’s been really tough. We’ve had ups and downs. Along the way it hasn’t been a smooth run. I’ve made the best out of every situation and got as much points as possible,” Duncan says.

The team here at MTX are proud to be supporters of Duncan and the Bike-It MTX Kawasaki Race team. Duncan has surely shown the world women’s stage what hard work, determination and a driven mindset looks like.


MXGP of Trentino results

WMX – Race 1 – Top 10 Classification: 1. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, Yamaha), 24:30.310; 2. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, Yamaha), +0:02.596; 3. Courtney Duncan (NZL, Kawasaki), +0:03.889; 4. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:13.690; 5. Lynn Valk (NED, Husqvarna), +0:16.957; 6. Shana van der Vlist (NED, KTM), +0:20.726; 7. Daniela Guillen (ESP, KTM), +0:27.670; 8. Sara Andersen (DEN, KTM), +0:29.202; 9. Tahlia Jade O’Hare (AUS, Honda), +0:51.209; 10. Malou Jakobsen (DEN, KTM), +0:59.109;

WMX – Race 2 – Top 10 Classification: 1. Courtney Duncan (NZL, Kawasaki), 24:51.718; 2. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, Yamaha), +0:08.063; 3. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, Yamaha), +0:13.235; 4. Lynn Valk (NED, Husqvarna), +0:14.133; 5. Sara Andersen (DEN, KTM), +0:14.716; 6. Daniela Guillen (ESP, KTM), +0:30.848; 7. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, GASGAS), +0:38.501; 8. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:39.459; 9. Shana van der Vlist (NED, KTM), +0:40.836; 10. Tahlia Jade O’Hare (AUS, Honda), +0:54.674;

WMX – Overall Top 10 Classification: 1. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, YAM), 47 points; 2. Courtney Duncan (NZL, KAW), 45 p.; 3. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, YAM), 42 p.; 4. Lynn Valk (NED, HUS), 34 p.; 5. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KAW), 31 p.; 6. Sara Andersen (DEN, KTM), 29 p.; 7. Daniela Guillen (ESP, KTM), 29 p.; 8. Shana van der Vlist (NED, KTM), 27 p.; 9. Tahlia Jade O’Hare (AUS, HON), 23 p.; 10. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, GAS), 20 p.;

WMX – Championship Top 10 Classification: 1. Courtney Duncan (NZL, KAW), 268 points; 2. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, YAM), 237 p.; 3. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, GAS), 227 p.; 4. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, YAM), 214 p.; 5. Shana van der Vlist (NED, KTM), 197 p.; 6. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KAW), 184 p.; 7. Lynn Valk (NED, HUS), 174 p.; 8. Sara Andersen (DEN, KTM), 159 p.; 9. Daniela Guillen (ESP, KTM), 154 p.; 10. Tahlia Jade O’Hare (AUS, HON), 112 p.;

WMX – Manufacturers Classification: 1. Kawasaki, 268 points; 2. Yamaha, 246 p.; 3. GASGAS, 230 p.; 4. KTM, 213 p.; 5. Husqvarna, 174 p.; 6. Honda, 112 p.; 7. Suzuki, 39 p.;

Follow her on Facebook and Instagram.

2021 Women’s Motocross World Championship calendar 

1              Saturday, July 24 GP of Czech Republic, Loket

2              Saturday, July 31 GP of Flanders-Belgium, Lommel

3              Saturday, September 4 GP of Turkey, Afyonkarahisar

4              Tuesday, September 7 GP of Afyon, Afyonkarahisar

5              Saturday, October 16 GP of Spain, intu Xanadu-Arroyomolinos

6              Sunday, October 24 – GP of Trentino, Pietramurata


Photo Credits: Monster Energy

← Older Post Newer Post →


Leave a comment